DECISION ON A BENCH: I CAN ‘DEUTSCH’

img_7048
Benches are for thoughts and DECISIONS.

I said NO to the German class within my first three months of high-school because I couldn’t. I convinced myself I cannot, therefore I could not.

 

Moving to Germany, I had to learn German, with it embedded in my mind that German is hard.

 

I enthusiastically completed the first exam of my level German course and took a holiday. No more Monday classes, no more devotion to Duolingo and no more German audios as often as I’m on public transport. I lost all motivation.

 

After a few days of those close to me shoving German in my face (Yes, I got the hint. I need to step up my Deutsch game), I CAN become fluent in German without the threat of a lehre who won’t speak anything but German and the fear of not progressing. I WILL make it easy for myself to master this. I AM on board! One hour speaking per day, one hour audio per day and one journal entry per week in Deutsch. It has been written hence, it must be so!

 

Being born in Kenya, you’re bilingual from the moment it’s time to speak. So, YES! I will make room in my head and in my heart for Deutsch.

 

I CAN, therefore I WILL.

2 thoughts on “DECISION ON A BENCH: I CAN ‘DEUTSCH’

  1. Hi! Misses and Kisses from Nairobi! Glad that you made the decision to learn. It shouldn’t be too hard though seeing as you are at the pulse of Deutschland. I wish you all the best, Fräulein!

    Like

Leave a Reply

